MINUTES OF THE ANNUAL MEETING OF FULL COUNCIL held on 24 May 2024 at 11am in Bethesda Baptist Church and via live feed

Present Cllr J Owens Chairman / Mayor / Sheriff-Elect Vice Chairman / Mayor-Elect

Cllr C Black
Cllr J Brady
Cllr A Brooker
Cllr J Hackett
Cllr H Lewis
Cllr P Lewis
Cllr S Pearce
Cllr B Simister
Cllr R Thomas

Cllr R Thomas Deputy Mayor-Elect

Cllr R Thomas-Turner

V Lewis Camacho Town Clerk

Observers Reverend Father Neil Hook

Members of the public

Invited guests

Mayor's Chaplain

The outgoing Mayor, Councillor Jill Owens, provided an opening speech recapping the Council's progress during her Mayoral year.

2543 Election of the Town Mayor and Chairman of Council

Resolved Councillor M Lewis was elected Mayor and

Admiral of the Port of Haverfordwest and Chairman of Council for the 2024-2025 council

year

Councillor M Lewis signed the declaration of acceptance of office and took the oaths of office

CIIr H Lewis was appointed as Mayoress

2544 Apologies

Apologies received from Councillor(s) K Jones and T Moses.

2545 Declarations of Interest from Members

| Agenda Item | Member | Interest | Nature of interest |
|-----------------|--------|----------|--------------------|
| No declarations | | | |

2546 Election of the Deputy Mayor and Vice Chairman of Council

Resolved Councillor R Thomas was elected Deputy Mayor

and Vice Chairman of Council for the 2024-2025

council year

Mrs S Thomas was appointed as Deputy

Mayoress

2547 Election of the Sheriff

Resolved Councillor J Owens was elected Sheriff for the

2024-2025 council year

Mr R Owens was appointed as the Sheriff's

Consort

2548 Governance

- a) Code of Conduct
- b) Standing Orders
- c) Financial Regulations
- d) Terms of Reference for Committees, Sub-Committees and all Working Groups
- e) Allowances and Expenses Policy 2024-2025

Resolved

The Code of Conduct, Standing Orders, Financial Regulations, Terms of Reference for Committees, Sub-Committees and all Working Groups, Allowances and Expenses Policy 2024-2025 were re-adopted

2549 Fix the dates of Council and Committee meetings for the 2024-2025 council year

Resolved Dates of the Council and Committee meetings for

the 2024-2025 council year were adopted.

2550 Appointment of Councillors to Standing Committees, Sub-Committees, Working Groups and Outside Bodies

- a) Appoint to Committees
- b) Appoint to the Sub-Committees and Working Groups of Council
- c) Appoint to Outside Bodies

| Committee | Appointed Councillor |
|--------------------------------------------------|----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------|
| Management, Estates and Strategy Committee (MES) | Councillor Martin Lewis (ex-officio) Councillor Chris Black Councillor Peter Lewis Councillor Tom Moses Councillor Shane Pearce Councillor Bob Simister Councillor Randell Thomas-Turner |
| Personnel, Policy and Finance Committee (PPF) | Councillor Martin Lewis (ex-officio) Councillor Julia Brady Councillor Arthur Brooker Councillor John Hackett Councillor Kevin Jones Councillor Helen Lewis Councillor Roy Thomas |
| Emergency Committee | Councillor Martin Lewis – Mayor Councillor Roy Thomas – Deputy Mayor Councillor Jill Owens – Sheriff Chair of MES – to be elected at the June Full Council meeting Chair of PPF – to be elected at the June Full Council meeting |
| Staffing Sub-Committee | Councillor Martin Lewis – Mayor Councillor Roy Thomas – Deputy Mayor Councillor Jill Owens – Sheriff Chair of MES – to be elected at the June Full Council meeting Chair of PPF – to be elected at the June Full Council meeting |
| Christmas Lights Sub- Committee | Councillor John Hackett Councillor Kevin Jones |

| Civic Events and Roles Task | Councillor Arthur Brooker |
|-----------------------------|----------------------------|
| and Finish Group | Councillor Jill Owens |
| _ | Councillor C Black |
| | Councillor P Lewis |
| Old Wool Market | Councillor Kevin Jones |
| Development Task and | Councillor Helen Lewis |
| Finish Group | Councillor Martin Lewis |
| | Councillor Jill Owens |
| | Councillor Bob Simister |
| | |
| Standing Orders Task and | Councillor J Hackett |
| Finish Group | Councillor P Lewis |
| | Councillor R Thomas |
| Branding Task and Finish | Councillor J Hackett |
| Group | Councillor P Lewis |
| | Councillor R Thomas |
| | Councillor R Thomas-Turner |
| National Association of | Councillor R Thomas |
| Sheriffs' AGM 2024 Weekend | Councillor J Brady |
| Task and Finish Group | Councillor M Lewis |
| | Councillor H Lewis |
| | Councillor R Thomas-Turner |

Resolved

Appointments to Standing Committees, Sub-Committees, Working Groups and Outside Bodies (latter as approved at the April 2024 Full Council meeting) were accepted.

Outgoing Mayor, Councillor J Owens, appointment to Committees Sub-Committees, and Task and Finish Groups, to be considered and approved at Full Council meeting on 20 June 2024.

2551 Appointments

- a) Appointment of the Mayor's Chaplain
- b) Appointment of the Sergeant at Mace
- c) Appointment of the Sergeant at Arms

Resolved

Reverend Father Neil Hook was appointed as Mayor's Chaplain

Miss M Squelch was appointed Sergeant at Mace

Mr P Wheeler was appointed Sergeant at Arms

2552 Town Mayor's / Chairman of Council's Closing Address

The Mayor gave his closing address, to include thanks to the outgoing Mayor. He noted the date of the upcoming Civic Service to be held on 30th June 2024 at St Martin's Church, Haverfordwest at 11.00 am

| Chairman of Council / Mayor | Signed |
|-----------------------------|------------|
| Proper Officer / Town Clerk | Signed |
| Date | |