MINUTES OF THE ANNUAL MEETING OF FULL COUNCIL HELD ON THURSDAY 17 MAY 2018 AT 11AM IN BETHESDA BAPTIST CHURCH, BARN STREET, HAVERFORDWEST

PRESENT: Cllr A Buckfield (Mayor)

Cllr A Brooker
Cllr J Collier
Cllr S Cook
Cllr J Dunckley
Cllr A Edwards
Cllr C Evans
Cllr A V Griffiths
Cllr S Hooper
Cllr G Howell
Cllr D Jones
Cllr J Morgans
Cllr Mrs S Murray
Cllr C Thomas

APOLOGIES: Cllr A Griffiths

Cllr P Jones Cllr M Mathias

The Town Clerk, Deputy Town Clerk and Administration Officer were in attendance.

The Mayor's Chaplain, Rev Fr A Evans, was in attendance and led the Council in prayer.

1530 ELECTION OF THE MAYOR (CHAIR)

It was proposed, seconded and all voted in favour that Cllr Mrs S Murray be elected as Mayor and Admiral of the Port of Haverfordwest for 2018/2019; and 2019/2020 subject to re-election at the 2019 Annual Meeting.

RESOLVED: CIIr Mrs S Murray is appointed Mayor of

Haverfordwest and Admiral of the Port of

Haverfordwest for the ensuing term of office

Cllr Mrs S Murray made her Declaration of Acceptance of Office as Town Mayor and Admiral of

the Port of Haverfordwest

Cllr Mrs S Murray appointed Mr P Murray as her

Consort

1531 <u>DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST FROM MEMBERS</u>

Declarations of interest from members will be taken as and when they arise.

1532 ELECTION OF THE TOWN SHERIFF

It was proposed, seconded and all voted in favour that Cllr C Thomas be elected as Sheriff for 2018/2019; and 2019/2020, subject to re-election at the 2019 Annual Meeting.

The Sheriff, Cllr C Thomas, presented the retiring Sheriff, Cllr G Howell, with a former Sheriff's medal.

RESOLVED: Cllr C Thomas is appointed Sheriff of Haverfordwest

for the ensuing term of office

Cllr C Thomas appointed Mrs A Thomas as Sheriff's

Lady

1533 ELECTION OF DEPUTY MAYOR

It was proposed, seconded and the majority voted in favour that Cllr A Buckfield be elected as Deputy Mayor for 2018/2019; and 2019/2020, subject to re-election at the 2019 Annual Meeting.

RESOLVED: Cllr A Buckfield is appointed Deputy Mayor for the

ensuing term of office

1534 APPOINTMENT OF MAYOR'S CHAPLAIN

The Mayor, Cllr Mrs S Murray, appointed Rev Fr A Evans as her Chaplain.

RESOLVED: Rev Fr A Evans is appointed Mayor's Chaplain

1535 VOTE OF THANKS TO OUTGOING MAYOR

The Mayor, Cllr Mrs S Murray, proposed a vote of thanks to the out-going Mayor, Cllr A Buckfield. Cllr A Buckfield responded.

1536 COUNCILLOR'S OATH

Councillors confirmed their commitment with the oath of office.

1537 APPOINTMENT OF SERGEANT'S AT MACE AND SERGEANT AT ARMS

It was proposed, seconded and all voted in favour that Miss M Squelch and Mr D Williams are appointed Sergeant's at Mace.

It was proposed, seconded and all voted in favour that Mrs P Hall is appointed Sergeant at Arms.

RESOLVED: Miss M Squelch and Mr D Williams were appointed

Sergeant's at Mace

Mrs P Hall was appointed Sergeant at Arms

1538 RE-ADOPT STANDING ORDERS AND FINANCIAL REGULATIONS

It was proposed, seconded and all voted in favour that Council re-adopt Standing Orders and Financial Regulations.

RESOLVED: Standing Orders and Financial Regulations are re-

adopted

1539 DATES OF COUNCIL MEETINGS FOR 2018/2019

It was proposed, seconded and all voted in favour that the dates for the Council Meetings for 2018/2019 are accepted as per attached schedule.

49/18

RESOLVED: Dates of Council Meetings for 2018/2019 be as listed in

the attached schedule

1540 COUNCILLORS TO COMMITTEE

It was proposed, seconded and all voted in favour to appoint Councillors to the Management, Estates and Strategy (MES) Committee and Personnel, Policy and Finance (PPF) Committee as outlined in attachment 2.

RESOLVED: Councillors appointed to the Management, Estates and

Strategy Committee and Personnel, Policy and Finance

Committee

1541 PRESENTATION OF THE CITIZEN AWARD AND YOUNG LAUREL AWARD

The Mayor bestowed the Citizen Award to Mrs Heather Scammell, Mr David Williams, Mrs Elaine Williams, Mr Christopher Doran and posthumously to the late Mrs Anne Doran, in recognition of their tireless work in promoting the plight of Withybush Hospital in Haverfordwest and to keep it in the forefront of the townspeople's minds.

The award was collected by Ms Heather Scammell on their behalf.

No presentation was made for the Young Laurel Award as no nominations were received.

RESOLVED: The Citizen's Award was conferred to Mrs Heather

Scammell, Mr David Williams, Mrs Elaine Williams, Mr Christopher Doran and posthumously to the late Mrs

Anne Doran

1542 DATE OF NEXT MEETING

ine ne	ext meeting will be held on Wednesday 20" J	une 2018.
Signed		Mayor
Signed	· · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · ·	Town Clerk
Date		

HAVERFORDWEST TOWN COUNCIL

DATES OF COUNCIL AND COMMITTEE MEETINGS 2018-2019

ANNUAL MEETING/MAYOR MAKING

Thursday 17th May 2018

MES Committee PPF Committee

FULL COUNCIL MEETING

MES Committee PPF committee

FULL COUNCIL MEETING

NO MEETINGS

MES Committee PPF Committee

FULL COUNCIL MEETING

Tuesday 5th June 2018 Wednesday 6th June 2018 **Wednesday 20th June 2018**

Tuesday 3rd July 2018 Wednesday 4th July 2018 **Wednesday 18th July 2018**

August 2018

Tuesday 4th September 2018 Wednesday 5th September 2018 **Wednesday 19th September 2018**

Tuesday 9th October 2018 Wednesday 10th October 2018 **Wednesday 24th October 2018**

Tuesday 6th November 2018 Wednesday 7th November 2018 **Wednesday 21st November 2018**

Tuesday 4th December 2018 Wednesday 5th December 2018 **Wednesday 19th December 2018**

Tuesday 8th January 2019 Wednesday 9th January 2019 **Wednesday 23rd January 2019**

Tuesday 5th February 2019 Wednesday 6th February 2019 **Wednesday 20th February 2019**

Tuesday 5th March 2019 Wednesday 6th March 2019 **Wednesday 20th March 2019**

Tuesday 2nd April 2019 Wednesday 3rd April 2019 **Wednesday 17th April 2019**

ANNUAL MEETING/MAYOR-MAKING

Thursday 16th May 2019

All meetings (except Mayor-Making) are held in the Council Chamber and commence at 7pm, unless otherwise advised

HAVERFORDWEST TOWN COUNCIL

ANNUAL MEETING 17 May 2018 - Agenda Item 12

Mayor Cllr Mrs Sue Murray – ex-officio on both committees

Management, Estates and Strategy Committee (MES)

Cllr J Collier

Cllr S Cook

Cllr A Edwards

Cllr C Evans

Cllr A Griffiths

Cllr A V Griffiths

Cllr S Hooper

Cllr D Jones

Personnel, Policy and Finance Committee (PPF)

Cllr A Brooker

Cllr A Buckfield

Cllr J Dunckley

Cllr G Howell

Cllr P Jones

Cllr M Mathias

Cllr J Morgans

Cllr C Thomas